Non-scale Victories & Other Weight Loss Miracles

March 12, 2012

Am I CRAZY???

The NJ Half and the Super Hero Half. Two half marathons within 2 weeks of each other??? Am I CRAZY???

Please help me be a real Super Hero for cancer patients by making a donation in ANY amount to the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society on my behalf http://pages.teamintraining.org/nyc/nj12/crawlcarolcrawl

Why do I do this?

I do this because the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society is projected to fall short of their national budget this year. That means that for some, the LLS co-pay fund that once helped cover the costs of medications and doctor visits is now depleted. That also means that research funding is being scaled back, slowing advancements in treatments and towards a cure.

I do this in memory of family members and friends I have lost to various forms of cancer over the years. People like my father, who died in October 1999 after a 5 month battle with inoperable kidney cancer. People like my friends, the late actor Cliff Gorman, who died from leukemia back in 2002, my friend “Betty Boop” who died of lung cancer, and my friend Patty Higgins, who was one of my biggest cheerleaders during my past marathon efforts as she fought her own battle with cancer.

I do this in honor of my friends who have survived their battles with cancer, like my honored team mates Andrew Matteson who trained for his first marathon this past summer while undergoing chemotherapy and radiation. People like my honored team mate Jane Sanders, who is a constant source of inspiration, and who was my Hamptons Half Marathon room mate a few months ago. People like Caroline Watters, who was diagnosed when she was almost 2 years old, and her sister Lisette Watters, who donated her bone marrow at the age of 4 years old to save her sister’s life. Caroline is now 10 years cancer-free. Both Caroline and Lisette speak regularly about their experiences, and are a constant source of inspiration and laughter during our training seasons.

Your donation can make such a huge difference. It funds research, assists patients with small reimbursements for treatment expenses, and most important- it brings hope to so many. Please donate what you can. I know the economy is tough on us all, but please think as big and dig as deep as you’re able. Every dollar counts. Every dollar helps.

Thank you.

