Non-scale Victories & Other Weight Loss Miracles

August 25, 2011

No More Excuses

Filed under: Thoughts on Weight Loss — Carol @ 7:40 pm

Meals like this are going to be a thing of the past

Yesterday’s meeting started a new goal for me – no more excuses, no more denial, and no more “adventures in slugdom”. I need to get with the program. Seriously.

My first challenge is tracking. Everything. If I don’t want to write it down, I shouldn’t be putting it in my mouth. As my first leader used to say, “You bite it, you write it.” So far, so good. Yesterday, I tracked every single one of the 56 (yes, I meant to type 56) Points Plus that I ate. “Weigh-in Wednesday” has typically also been my one “fat food” day each week, where I allow myself a bit of indulgence and over-indulgence. That’s probably not going to change. What will be changing is that I’m going back to one “fat food” day per week, instead of three or four. I’ve tracked everything I’ve eaten today up until now, and have even pre-tracked my nightly microwave popcorn. I’ve also started tracking my activity again. Hey, if I’m going to track and deduct the Points Plus values for the food I’m eating, I’m going to make damn sure I track and get credit for the Points Plus values I’m earning with the exercise I’m doing!

My other challenge is going to be “moving more”. Okay, I know you’re saying “But, you’re training for a half marathon, so you’ve got to be moving more!” Well, to be honest, when left to my own devices, I am the ultimate slug. Not “I can be the ultimate slug”. I am the ultimate slug. I think part of it is because I’ve started to feel that if I’m not doing at least 3-5 miles, it’s like I’m doing nothing. Which is pretty stupid. Any number of miles is more than no miles. So, on my “off” days, I’m going to aim to just get dressed and out the door for a walk, whatever the distance.

1 Comment

  1. I found your blog via a google search tonight… I’ll be adding you to my links to check back again.

    My biggest problem is lack of movement. That and emotional eating. Between the two, nd I’m blaming the former more, I’ve gained 54 pounds in the last year and I have no one to blame but myself.

    I just started tracking, journaling, and documenting everything on this last Sunday. I also signed up for the gym and am ashamed to even post about how little it takes to have me sweating profusely. But… I’m getting one of those first week major losses. Four days and I’m down .5 pounds.

    If you’d like, I’d love for your to stop by my blog and offer some support on occasion. I’d happily do the same for you.

    Comment by Debra — October 20, 2011 @ 2:40 am


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

