Non-scale Victories & Other Weight Loss Miracles

August 9, 2011

Why I’m Run/Walking to Save Lives

Filed under: Adventures & Misadventures — Carol @ 1:11 pm

I’ve signed up as a Team in Training Mentor for the Hamptons Half Marathon, and will also be signing up for another half marathon later this year! I’ll be training to run/walk not one, but TWO half marathons to support The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society’s Team in Training, AND helping new team members get the most out of their Team in Training experience. That’s a combined total of 32 weeks of training, and at least 26.2 miles of racing!

Why do I do this, you ask? For starters, I’ve lost way too many friends and family members to various forms of cancer, including leukemia & lymphoma. I also do it so that I can hear GREAT news – like my friend who just got her scan results back and is STILL CANCER-FREE over a year after her last chemo treatment. I do it for the cancer survivors on my team, and for people like my team mate Andrew, who has been training during chemo, and just finished his last treatment a few weeks ago.

$954 down. $996 left to meet my fundraising minimum. $1,546 to meet my personal goal of 2,500. Can you help? http://pages.teamintraining.org/nyc/hampton11/cmartzinek via:https://plus.google.com/116461940595923658083/posts/gdqK8gx3XRP

via My Fundraising Page.

