Non-scale Victories & Other Weight Loss Miracles

February 13, 2010

Struggling with Food Lately

Filed under: Thoughts on Weight Loss — Carol @ 7:34 pm

I’m not sure why it is, but for some reason lately, I’ve been struggling with food. I’m thinking that it may be due to a combination of stress over financial issues, and the lovely winter weather we’ve been having lately. I know that during the snowstorm on Wednesday, I just wanted to eat lots of comfort food. That kind of makes sense based on childhood memories of going out to play in the snow and then coming inside and having something nice and hot like soup or hot chocolate. Being bored out of my gourd and not being able to go out walking due to all the snow and ice probably doesn’t help, either. At least I got some exercise in every time I had to go out and sweep the snow off my steps and walk!

Being on an exceptionally tight budget the past two weeks probably hasn’t helped things. I’m trying not to use my credit cards for anything except emergencies and most of my last paycheck went to my landlord. So, things were a bit tight, and I couldn’t do the type of food shopping I normally would. As a result, I think I started feeling deprived, and ate more in a “rebellion” of sorts. Fortunately, that too, has passed, and I’m working on getting back on track. Hopefully, now that some of the snow has melted and the sidewalks aren’t iced over, I can get back to walking and the gym.

One thing I’ve learned is that, when I’m going through a period like that, one thing I should definitely not do is buy peanut butter! No matter how well-intentioned I start out, I invariably end up with the spoon in the jar in times of stress. At any other time, I can buy a jar and have it sit there for weeks. I just can’t do it when I’m stressed or bored. That’s when stock in Skippy goes up! 🙂

