Non-scale Victories & Other Weight Loss Miracles

June 28, 2009

So long, Lane Bryant!

I haven’t written in a while, but it’s now official – no more plus-size specialty shops and “women’s” departments for me! (Unless there’s something really cool that’s  in my size on sale, that is.)

I am now an honest-to-goodness, “official” size 16! When I say “official”, I mean that I fit in a real size 16, by a name-brand clothing manufacturer – not a 16W, or a “large” size 16. Not only do I fit in a size 16 medium (which is kind of funny, considering my psychic gifts) pair of jeans, but I fit in a J. Jill size 16! I had the best time the other weekend going shopping with my sister! We hit a fantastic clearance sale at Kohl’s, and I got not one, but three pairs of jeans in a “normal” size for under $30.00! Do you have any idea what an incredibly liberating feeling it is to walk into a department store and not have to worry or wonder if they have anything in your size??? Or being able to shop the clearance racks and score half a new wardrobe for under fifty bucks??? It is really cool!

For those of you starting your journey, hang in there! You are worth it, and you can do it! I’m still continuing on my journey a year and a half later. It takes time, yes. It gets frustrating at points, especially when it seems like the number on the scale is permanently stuck – like it was when I was less than 2 lbs away from being under 200 lbs. But stick with it! You will feel better not only physically, but mentally and emotionally. It’s a lot of work, but you have to decide whether you want to keep moving forward, or go back there. And we all know that there really isn’t such a great place, now, is it?  If there is anything I can do to help encourage and support you on your journey, please ask. I’d be happy to share what’s worked for me!

1 Comment

  1. Great job! I remember that feeling too. But gained some weight so I’m still someones in a 16W and sometimes a regular 16…but NOT FOR LONG!

    Great post thanks for sharing and congrats on no longer being qualified to shop in the PLUS SIZE SECTION!!!

    Comment by Tracey — June 28, 2009 @ 11:31 am


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

