Non-scale Victories & Other Weight Loss Miracles

March 25, 2009

Could it be… “Onederland”???

For the benefit of those who don’t know, “Onederland” is that mythical place on the weight loss journey when the number on your scale begins with a “1” instead of a “2”, “3” or higher number.

According to my bathroom scale yesterday morning, I am there!!! Not only was I there yesterday morning, but, from the looks of it, I’m still there this morning! Of course, me being me, I don’t consider it “official”, and need to have it confirmed and validated at my “official” Weight Watchers weigh-in tonight. Why, I don’t know, since I’d ceratainly consider any gain on my bathroom scale as “official” without thinking twice about it! I think having it confirmed at my weigh-in will somehow make it sink in as real, though.

This, for me, is a huge (pardon the pun) achievement! I have not seen a number starting with a “1” on my scale in over 13 years! When I step back and think about it, I’ve spent almost one-third of my life weighing over 200 lbs. It’s been so long since I’ve been under that weight, that I pretty much have no memory of what “life under 200” is like. I’m liking it so far, though.

It has not been easy, but, in retrospect, it hasn’t been extremely difficult, either. Yes, I’ve made changes in my food choices, eating habits and portion sizes. Yes, I’ve included more activity and workouts in my daily life.  Yes, I’ve been extremely frustrated at times when the number on the scale hasn’t budged. But, overall, it’s been a pretty cool and fun journey! I have my wonderful Weight Watchers “Wednesday Night Irregulars” meeting friends to encourage and support me, I’ve learned how to cook without killing anyone, I’ve tried some fun workouts, like  Tae Bo and Masala Bhangra and most importantly, I feel a lot more self-confident!

Finding something that works, doesn’t make you feel deprived, and that will keep you motivated is key. My path has been Weight Watchers, and so far, it has been working fabulously for me. The trick is to find what’s going to work for you over the long haul, because for some of us, it’s a pretty long haul. I may be at “Onederland”, but I’m still not done yet!

1 Comment

  1. I am saving up for a luxurious trip to onederland; hope to see you there soon.

    Comment by cloudy — April 23, 2009 @ 5:30 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

