Non-scale Victories & Other Weight Loss Miracles

September 5, 2008

Some Things to Keep Track of

I am a firm believer in taking measurements – including my neck, where I’ve lost an inch and a half! I’ve also noticed other things I wish I had measured from the start. For those of you who are just starting this journey, here’s a list of some things you might want to keep track of:

  • Your wrists, and the number of holes in your watchband
  • Your ring size
  • Your neck
  • Your shoulder “span” (distance across your back from shoulder to shoulder)
  • Your shoulder circumference (the distance all the way around your body at the shoulder)
  • Your shoe size
  • How far you can walk/how many minutes
  • Things you can’t do now, or things that are difficult, like tying shoelaces, walking up stairs

Write it all down, and check in with yourself every month or so. Even if you don’t measure monthly, it helps to have your starting point written down someplace where you can go back and see how far you’ve come. To be able to look back and say “Wow, six months ago, I couldn’t bend over and tie my shoes without huffing and puffing” is a really great feeling!

