Non-scale Victories & Other Weight Loss Miracles

July 31, 2008

Another 2.4 Down…

Only another 1.4 lbs to go before I reach the 50 lb mark! Going to the gym is defnitely helping things along! Not that I was any slouch when it came to walking around my neighborhood, but the treadmill makes me want to push myself a bit harder. Besides, the gym is air conditioned, and in this 90-plus degree heat, that definitely has some advantages!

On another note entirely, I’m coming to see this whole weight loss journey as a step I need to take for reasons beyond the obvious looking good and feeling better physically. For those who don’t know, I’ve been trained as a life coach, and that’s kind of been on the back burner for a while. A large part of the reason it’s been on the back burner has been a lack of faith in my abilities and gifts. Things have been really heavy in the self-doubt department. As I continue on this journey, however, my self-confidence and faith in myself has increased dramatically. I’m feeling so much better about me these days. I’m beginning to think that maybe that first attempt at life coaching was just practice, and that now my head is finally starting to get in the right place to really do it. It’s kind of hard to coach someone into believing that they can and will achieve their dreams, when you don’t exactly have faith in yourself or in the possibility of your dreams.

But things are definitely looking up – or down if you’re talking about my scale!

