Non-scale Victories & Other Weight Loss Miracles

July 20, 2008

I Joined a Gym!

This past Friday, I joined a local gym that I had toured last Sunday. Right now, I opted for the month-by-month package. While it’s a bit pricier than the other options, I chose the month-by-month option because I want to get a good feel for the place and my workout habits before committing to a longer membership period.

I was very impressed with the place after my tour last weekend, but I had to wait until after my neurologist appointment and this week’s payday before joining. The neurologist cleared me to exercise, with the exeption of upper body work (which might aggravate my neck/shoulder and the pinched nerve), jogging, and anything high-impact. Since mine is not a high-impact body, we have nothing to worry about there.

The gym is conveniently located within a 15 minute walk from my apartment, and one of the buses that I can take on the way home from work stops right at the shopping center where it’s located. It’s very deceptive-looking on the outside, as the entrance is only a door between two other stores. You could walk right past it without knowing there’s a gym in there. I always thought it was a rather small gym, until I decided to go and have a look last weekend. The “down-side” is that once you walk in the door, you have to walk down two flights of stairs to get to the actual gym, but once you do, it’s huge! On the first level there’s a very nice seating area with a couch and a refreshment bar, as well as several bikes, recumbent bikes and some stair machines. Then, you walk down another flight of stairs to the main gym. The size of this place alone blew me away! It is 10,000 square feet, with a 30-foot high ceiling, and a 20-foot ceiling fan. I’ve never even seen a 20-foot ceiling fan! The employee who gave me the tour (I’ll call him “Alan”) said that they call it “The Dungeon”. They’ve been in business for over 10 years, and it’s been recently renovated. There are plenty of treadmills and other machines, and most of the equipment is new as part of the renovation. It’s also extremely clean.

It also had a really good feel to it. I can’t explain it, but I liked it as soon as I walked in. I felt like I had found my new home. Last, but not least, during the whole tour, there was absolutely no pressure to sign up right then and there! “Alan” gave me the tour, answered my questions, and didn’t push me to sign on any dotted lines or hand over my MasterCard. He let me leave and think about it for a few days, without any dire warnings that these rates would only be good for the next 24 hours, or any other sort of high-pressure sales pitch. So, I was very glad to come back on Friday, and see “Alan” would be the one to process my new membership. I also thanked him for not trying to strongarm me into joining when I came for my tour.

And today, I did it! I braved the heat and went to the gym for my first workout!

I did 45 minutes on the treadmill. I know, it sounds kind of silly walking almost a mile to the gym to walk on a treadmill. But, it was good because a)it was air conditioned and b)I got more of a workout on the treadmill than I would walking outside, since I upped my speed and the incline. I could feel it in my posterior, lower abs and thighs, which is a good thing.

It’s a good thing I got there around 9:00 am, though, because after around 9:30 am, it started to fill up a bit in the treadmill section. Then again, people who normally go later might be going early today because of the heat. Even so, I still would’ve had a treadmill to use, and there’s plenty of other equipment that wasn’t in use at all.

I did a little bit of exploring around the women’s locker room. They’re putting in a small sauna, there are two very clean showers, and some really gorgeous high-tech sinks. The lockers are fancier than your standard gym locker, and each one has a section with more than ample space to hang stuff that needs hanging, and there’s a separate section for your handbag or other items. I even made it up the three flights of stairs without a problem!

2 Comments

  1. I never thought I would love going to the gym but I do. On my non trainer days I only do the treadmill, its what I love and my knees can’t take the the bikes for too long yet. I have to take stairs up to the gym too! LOL

    Comment by Sueellen — July 20, 2008 @ 3:06 pm

  2. Congratulations! I don’t think walking to the gym is silly. DRIVING one mile to walk on the treadmill would be silly!

    Good luck.

    Cindi Leeman
    WALK! Magazine
    http://www.walk-magazine.com
    http://walk-magazine.blogspot.com/

    Comment by Cindi — July 20, 2008 @ 10:59 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

