Non-scale Victories & Other Weight Loss Miracles

July 15, 2008

A Brief Update on the Arm

Filed under: Adventures & Misadventures — Carol @ 8:33 pm

Yesterday, I had an appointment with the neurologist about the numbness in my left hand.

Long story short, I have a pinched nerve, which sounds painful, but it isn’t. It’s numb. The painful part is the muscle spasm and some form of temporary self-correcting type or arthritic condition in my neck. The good news is that I’m doing all the right things to take care of it, and that adjusting the position of my chair at work seems to have helped a lot. The bad news is that this could take weeks or possibly months to fully heal, and I may have numbness in my fingers for a while longer. Not horrible, and it’s definitely preferable to some of the scenarios I was cooking up in my head.

I can still exercise, just nothing high-impact and no working my upper body with any weights for a while. I can live with that, and I can still join my local gym this week.

