Non-scale Victories & Other Weight Loss Miracles

May 26, 2008

I Learned Something, and…

I tried something new this week. Actually, I tried a few new things.

But first, I learned something I didn’t know in my Weight Watchers meeting this week. I learned that I can ask my leader anytime I need a new copy of one of the tool worksheets. I found out because we were doing Storyboarding this week, and I mentioned that the timing was perfect, as I needed a new Storyboard for my refrigerator. My wonderful leader responded that I could get one anytime, and that all I needed to do was ask for one. Could it be any easier than that?

My old Storyboard from my “40 for Fearless” winning outcome is still on my fridge. The steps are still a pretty good daily checklist for me, but the event I was using it for has come and gone. (Counting the 5 lbs I had lost prior to joining Weight Watchers, I made the 40 lb goal.) So, it’s time for a new one, and this time I’m doing it in technicolor, so that I can’t help but look at it.

Now for the new stuff. I tried a few new foods this week – some good, some not so good. First the good – tomatillos. They look like little green tomatoes, with a papery covering. The one I tried had a nice sweet taste to it. I would definitely buy some again to add into a salad or eat on their own. Also on the good list is canned chipotle peppers in adobo sauce. A word of warning, though – these things are HOT! I tried a Weight Watchers Magazine suggestion and pureed them in a blender. I mixed mine with fat-free buttermilk ranch dip. The result is a nice spicy dip for celery that’ll keep your sinuses clear! You might want to experiment and start with adding in 1/2 can or 1/4 can, depending on your taste. I happen to love spicy foods, but I realize not everyone else does.

The not so good – and I should so get bonus points for this one! I went with my sister, niece and nephew to Cheeburger Cheeburger in Port Washington, Long Island. Now, I will preface this by saying that I have been to another Cheeburger Cheeburger, and loved it. So, the problem isn’t with the chain, but with this specific restaurant. I was good. I ordered a very healthy grilled chicken salad with black olives, tomatoes, and artichoke hearts (new thing for me number 3) and blue cheese dressing. (Okay, so the blue cheese dressing wasn’t exactly the most POINTS-conscious move, but I figured it was a special occasion and I had plenty of weekly POINTS left, so what the heck.)

Let me tell you, I should have just caved in and had a cheeseburger and fries. It was probably one of the worst salads I’ve had in a restaurant. The “bed of greens” was a bed of wilted lettuce, the artichoke hearts were from a jar, and the chicken and dressing were just so-so. It was a real disappointment, especially after I had been to another Cheeburger Cheeburger previously, and had a great salad. I have fresher vegetables in my refrigerator, and trust me, that’s not saying much! The kids’ burgers and fries, were however, according to my sister, quite good. I’m all for healthy eating, but in this case…

If you find yourself in the Port Washington Cheeburger Cheeburger – splurge on some weekly points, have a small burger and fries, and skip the salads.

