Non-scale Victories & Other Weight Loss Miracles

May 15, 2008

A Few Things That Have Come in Handy on the Journey

The other day I was talking with a friend about tips, tricks, gadgets and other things that have really helped me lose weight. Then I realized that I don’t think I’ve written about them here. DUHHH!!! So, in no particular order, here are some things that have come in handy on my journey:

  • A set of three 1-cup plastic bowls with lids that I bought in the local Rite-Aid for about $2.00. These things are great for bringing my cereal in to work for the week! They hold exactly 1 cup of cereal, and they also have very secure lids. I bring three of these into the office at a time, thus ensuring that I have something healthy at work for breakfast.
  • My apple corer/slicer, found in the local dollar store for the whopping cost of – you guessed it – 1 dollar. I keep one in the office and one in my kitchen. These are excellent for slicing apples and getting rid of the core. For those of you who have never seen one, they look like this:

  • Sandwich size zip-lock bags. One can never have enough of these. Perfect for portioning out single servings of everything from almonds to chips. I also use sandwich size freezer bags to portion out and freeze fresh fruits and vegetables. They’re also handy for bringing in portion size snacks in to the office.
  • My Weight Watchers POINTS calculator. I take this with me when I go food shopping to check POINTS values before I buy. That’s how I discovered the rosemary sandwich wraps that I found out I love are only 1 POINT each.
  • Self-adhesive “dot” labels. I use these to label my food with POINTS values when I unpack my groceries.
  • Plastic food storage containers in various shapes and sizes. This is how I make what I refer to as my “Garani-meals”. I make up a batch of pasta and salad (or some other dish) over the weekend, and portion them out into these for the week ahead. When I come home from work, all I have to do is grab a container or two, add some sauce and/or dressing, and toss whatever needs to be heated in the microwave.
  • Individual containers of fat-free yogurt in assorted flavors. I stock up on these every time they go on sale. Right now, I have enough yogurt in my refrigerator to last at least another 2 weeks. I also bring some to work with me and store them in our office refrigerator.

I’m sure there’s something I’ve left out. If you have tips you’ve found helpful, by all means, feel free to post a comment and share them!

2 Comments

  1. I like the “Garanimeals” idea — didn’t even think about it!!! What a good tip!

    And I’d be lost without my apple corer/wedger!

    Comment by Annette — May 18, 2008 @ 1:06 pm

  2. I completely agree about the apple slicer! When I unpack groceries, I keep a sharpie out. I write the points on the items right away. Well, that is when I was on track 🙂

    Comment by Jessica — May 19, 2008 @ 8:38 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

