Non-scale Victories & Other Weight Loss Miracles

May 7, 2008

Money & Weight Loss

Filed under: Thoughts on Weight Loss — Tags: , — Carol @ 9:21 pm

Part of our meeting topic tonight was about how, even though buying healthier foods may cost more money, doing so is an investment in ourselves and our well-being. We talked about the higher cost of healthier food choices, but also about how those things actually last longer now, because we’re controlling our portions. In the long run it all pays for itself in fewer doctor visits, a healthier immune system, less need for prescription medicines, etc.

Interestingly enough, thinking about the topic tonight helped me identify the cause of something else I’ve been feeling. Lately, while I’ve been feeling absolutely fantastic about the progress I’ve made, how much more energy I have due to my healthier food and activity habits, and of course, how totally hot I’m looking these days. However, while I’m all jazzed and excited about that, I’m finding that I’ve been feeling kind of “blah” about working my program the past few weeks. I couldn’t put my finger on why until after tonight’s meeting, and once I realized it, it was like this huge “DUHHH!!!” went off inside my head.

I’ve been struggling a bit financially the past two months, to the point where I haven’t been able to go out and do “real” food shopping for a few weeks. I’ve been pretty much buying a few days to a week’s worth of stuff at the small grocery store near me, just enough to get me through the week. The result? Much more limited food choices available at the smaller store, and not much room for experimentation and/or excitement. Due to my limited finances, the food choices available have been a bit more boring due to going to the smaller grocery store, resulting in less enthusiasm and excitement. Like I said, “DUHHH!!!”

Fortunately, this will be changing in the very near future. This week is payday, and I’ve got big food shopping trip planned for the weekend!

