Non-scale Victories & Other Weight Loss Miracles

March 20, 2008

I Got a Keychain!

Somehow, I managed to lose 3 lbs this week – not sure how I managed that, with St. Patrick’s Day and all, but I did, and it put me over my 10% goal!!!

I’m now down a total of 28.8 lbs since joining Weight Watchers, and 33.8 since the end of October. This past week was the first time it really felt like I had to work the program, though. I don’t know if it was my approaching my 10% goal or what, but it seemed like every single trigger food was calling my name this past week. Foods I hadn’t thought much about eating were at the forefront of my brain – the box of frozen White Castle cheeseburgers in the freezer case at Walgreen’s, the bag of Nacho Cheesier Doritos, the taco bowl at the local salad bar. It was like every single food that could sabotage my efforts was making an effort to do so. On more than one occasion, it was a real effort not to give in, and to make the healthy food choice instead. It really did feel like work this week!

Thank goodness I made my 10% at my meeting last night, because if I hadn’t lost something after all that temptation-resisting, I would’ve been pissed! I know rewarding myself with food isn’t the greatest idea, but last night, I splurged and used some of my weekly points for a small bag of Hot Wing/Blue Cheese Doritos. Walgreen’s rarely carries them, and they’re really good. If nothing else, it got the craving for them out of my system. On the positive side, had this been 4 months ago, I would’ve been eating the BIG bag, and I wouldn’t have stopped until it was empty. But the real reward will be when I go to the outlet mall with my sister in a few weeks, and I go to the Danksin outlet. I promised myself that when I made my 10%, I was treating myself to a pair of Capezio split-sole dance sneakers. So, now I get to go out and buy them!

It’s not the greatest picture, but here’s an idea of what the 10% keyring looks like, although mine’s copper.

10keyring1.jpg

