Non-scale Victories & Other Weight Loss Miracles

March 8, 2008

How I Avoided Water Weight Gain

Filed under: Helpful Tips & Info — Tags: — Carol @ 9:52 am

I’m no expert, and I don’t know if this will work for everyone, but below is a list of things I did last week that seem to have helped me lose weight, instead of having my usual water weight gain:

  • Water, water and more water! I made a deliberate effort to drink a minimum of 6-8 8-oz glasses of water a day. On some days, I drank almost double that! Fill your water bottle first thing in the morning and keep it with you all day long. It really does make a difference!
  • Pay attention to your salt/sodium intake. I know that there are certain salty snacks and other foods that I love. I also know that they also cause me to retain water. So, last week, I cut back on those, really paid attention to how much salt I put on things, and read the sodium content on labels. Knowing that I was doing it just for the week, and really wanting not to gain made it a bit easier.
  • Eat more fresh fruits, vegetables and “real” foods. One of the things I noticed last month was that I tend to eat more frozen, processed and convenience foods at certain times. As far as points go, they’re okay, but they’re not the best choices for the points. Last week, I tried to eat more salads, veggie burgers, whole wheat pasta, soups, fruits, vegetables and cereal, and to reduce the amount of frozen convenience meals and stuff like Lean Pockets. It seems to have worked.
  • Kick up your activity a notch more than usual. It doesn’t have to be a big notch, either. If you usually get in 4 activity points a day, aim for 5. If you usually walk 10 minutes, try for 15 or 20 minutes. If you usually walk, try Tae Bo. (Just kidding, but it was fun!)

It all adds up. Had I not done any of the above, and if past history is any indication, I would’ve gained at least 2 lbs at this week’s weigh-in. Instead, I lost .4 lbs. I can’t wait to see what happens at my next weigh-in, when I’m back to “normal” (whatever that is).

