Non-scale Victories & Other Weight Loss Miracles

March 2, 2008

I Pushed Myself This Morning

Filed under: Non-scale Victories, Workouts & Workout Videos — Carol @ 1:18 pm

A while back, I bought two Leslie Sansone workout DVDs with a gift certificate I received for Christmas. I chose her workouts because, courtesy of my cable company, I get Exercise TV on demand for free. I tried some of her workouts that way, and decided I really liked them. (More about Exercise TV will follow in another entry.)

Since I’ve pretty much been focusing my efforts on walking outside, the DVDs remained untouched until yesterday afternoon. One of the workouts I purchased was the “Walk Away Your Waistline” set. It’s a 3 mile walk, with 1, 2 and 3 mile markers. It also includes a Walk Belt, which helps you focus on your core and also tone your upper body. So, not wanting to be a total slug yesterday, I decided to break out the DVD and Walk Belt, and did the first 15-minute mile workout. I really felt like I got a good workout, and I was quite pleased with myself for actually doing it.

This morning, I decided to pump it up a notch. My original goal was to hang in there for a full twenty minutes. Then, I decided to aim for the first 2 miles, and I did it! I worked out and kept up with the DVD for an entire 30 minutes!!! Considering the way I felt at the end of it, I have a feeling that I won’t be pushing myself to do the full 3 mile workout anytime within the next few months. But, it’s a great workout, especially for those of us who have more to lose. It’s very easy to follow, and equally easy to keep up with. The music works with the moves, and, while it’s not as totally cool as the playlist I created for my outdoor walks, it’s not annoying like some workout DVD music can be.

